Last Two Evidence Sessions of Justice Committee Announced

The sixth and seventh (and last) evidence sessions of the Justice Committee’s post-legislative scrutiny of the Freedom of Information Act 2000 have been announced. They will take place on Tuesday 15th and Wednesday 16th May, and evidence will be heard from the following (with hyperlinks to their written evidence submissions where available):

15th May

At 10.30:

At 11.30:

  • Glenn Preston, Deputy Director of Information and Devolution and
    Pam Teare, Director of Communication and Information, Ministry of Justice;
  • Marion Furr, Director of Ministerial Business and Parliamentary Accountability, Department of Health;
  • Brendan Walsh, Head, Information Rights Team, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs; and
  • Roger Smethurst, Deputy Director of Knowledge, Cabinet Office

16th May

At 9.30am:

  • Rt Hon Dominic Grieve QC MP, Attorney General

At 10.00am:

  • Rt Hon Lord McNally, Ministry of Justice; and
  • Rt Hon Frances Maude MP, Cabinet Office

The saveFOI campaign wrote to the Committee some weeks ago, suggesting that it should hear from serving FOI officers, and suggested our own Paul “FOI Man” Gibbons. This offer was not taken up, to our regret and – we think – to the detriment of the post-legislative scrutiny process.



One thought on “Last Two Evidence Sessions of Justice Committee Announced

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: